Down and out in Beijing Hills

I don’t want to get up today, the bed is too nice and I did enough walking the day before and didn’t get to bed soon enough. But I must persist! I’m here to make the most of my time in Beijing. There are two parks directly north of the forbidden city, one is known for having the traditional highest point in Beijing with good views over the forbidden city. I get up and behing my meander first I need breakfast. In my search for food I accidentally reach my destination. Directly opposite is a hutong that I go down. I almost immediately stumble across a little cafe hidden in a courtyard. The Alley Café. I head in and order a coffee and eggs on toast. They don’t have Chinese breakfast. It’s fine as the food is delicious. 9 have another coffee and some cake. It’s nearly lunch time….
I head into the park. Its costs 25p to enter. It barely seems worth the bother charging. A large group of people are singing. I guess they’re a full blown choir I guess. I climb to the top of the hill and get a good look at the forbidden city. There are a lot of people here. But almost all Chinese. Unlike most tourist destinations I’ve been to. China seems to cater for its own populace. Especially around the forbidden city and the parks adjoining it. I’m periodically swamped by groups of pensioners seeing their capital. I have no idea how far they’ve come, what small provincial city they hail from. They all have small folders with what seem to be pictures they’ve had taken in the last few hours. They periodically stop and have a look at them. From the highest point in Beijing I spot a Tibetan style stupa in the next park over. I make my way there. Its set on a little island on top of a hill. I reach it and read abut it. Its about 400 years old and is Tibetan. Which is unusual but I spotted something similar in Wuhan. I do a circambulation and continue on my way. A gradual malaise settles upon me. The excitement of Beijing has worn enough for me to start thinking more about going home and missing my wife. Where the day before I was walking almost non stop, now I stop and sit for long periods and think about home. Its unusual for my as I don’t normally get home sick or lonely. I guess married life has had an affect on me. I decide to head back to my room, I need a rest before my evening entertainment. Just before leaving my room in the morning. I booked a ticket to see a shaolin Monk performance as well as my activity for the next day. The performance is at 7:30 but I need to leave at 6. It gives me enough time to get back and have a nap. I enjoy the nap immensely. I then hop on the metro and head to the Red Theatre. The show is about to begin when I’m called by my guide for the next day. I apologise and say I can’t talk. The show begins. It’s very cheesy. The monks (or performers, I’m not sure what they are) are impressive. The demonstrate some impressive physical skills. Breaking things over the heads. Smashing wooden poles to pieces on the their legs and so on. At one point. During the most “spiritual scene” they clearly perform some very stylised Taiji moves. The opening posture, single whip and Buddhas warrior pounds mortar. I’m vaguely pleased by this. I also realise they’re all wearing feiyue shoes. Which I have a pair of at home in my cupboard. Of course, they’re not a patch on my new warriors! Once the show ends I head back to then hotel. Stopping to have some beef noodles in a little restaurant nearby. I resolve to make the most of my time left here. I have a chat with my wife and send her my love. 20190310_10511920190310_03293620190310_03545520190310_05505820190310_03393820190310_021225

Leave a comment